Special Education

As members of the PVRS community, the Special Education Department is committed to fostering respect, responsibility, and academic excellence. By providing equal opportunities and multiple approaches to success in a heterogeneous setting, we help students become critical and creative thinkers and encourage individuals to become contributing members of a diverse global society.

Special Education Services

The Special Education Department offers several different types of services based upon a student's individual needs as stated in their Individualized Educational Plan (I.E.P.).

  • Academic Support

  • Speech and Language

  • Physical Therapy

  • Occupational Therapy

  • After School Tutorial

  • Psychological Services

Academic Support Services

  • Small group and individual help sessions based upon student needs

  • Case management linkages to outside agencies

  • Diagnostic Evaluations

  • Family Support

  • School/Home Communication

  • On-Going Consultation with School Community

Our Special Educators

Robert Broussard

Special Education Teacher

broussardr@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x509

Courses taught:

High School Special Education

Special Education Teacher

browningk@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x269

Courses taught:

7th Grade Special Education

Danielle Denenfeld

Special Education Teacher

denenfeldd@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x267

Courses taught:

Essential Skills Program


Valerie Fontaine

Special Education Teacher

fontainev@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x510

Courses taught:

8th Grade Special Education

Our Instructional Assistants

Shelly Avery

Instructional Assistant

averym@pvrsdk12.org

Hanna Buedinger

Instructional Assistant

buedingerh@pvrsdk12.org

Kelly Burgh

Instructional Assistant

burghk@pvrsdk12.org

Donna DiGeorge

Instructional Assistant

digeorged@pvrsdk12.org

Melinda Forrest-Griffin

Instructional Assistant

forrestm@pvrsdk12.org

Kim Godfrey

Instructional Assistant

godfreyk@pvrsdk12.org

Linda Lively

Instructional Assistant

livelyl@pvrsdk12.org

Angelia Renaud

Instructional Assistant

renaud2@pvrsdk12.org

Shirley Ryan

Instructional Assistant

ryans@pvrsdk12.org

Donna Serviss

Instructional Assistant

servissd@pvrsdk12.org

Ruth Stratford

Instructional Assistant

stratfordr@pvrsdk12.org


Gail Streeter

Instructional Assistant

streeterg@pvrsdk12.org

Mae Tolpa

Instructional Assistant

tolpam@pvrsdk12.org

Melissa Wood

Instructional Assistant

woodme@pvrsdk12.org