Special Education

As members of the PVRS community, the Special Education Department is committed to fostering respect, responsibility, and academic excellence. By providing equal opportunities and multiple approaches to success in a heterogeneous setting, we help students become critical and creative thinkers and encourage individuals to become contributing members of a diverse global society.

Special Education Services

The Special Education Department offers several different types of services based upon a student's individual needs as stated in their Individualized Educational Plan (I.E.P.).

  • Academic Support
  • Speech and Language
  • Physical Therapy
  • Occupational Therapy
  • After School Tutorial
  • Psychological Services

Academic Support Services

  • Small group and individual help sessions based upon student needs
  • Case management linkages to outside agencies
  • Diagnostic Evaluations
  • Family Support
  • School/Home Communication
  • On-Going Consultation with School Community

Our Special Educators


Karin Browning

Special Education Teacher

browningk@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x269

Courses taught:

  • 7th Grade Special Education

Valerie Fontaine

Special Education Teacher

fontainev@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x510

Courses taught:

  • 8th Grade Special Education

Kevin Mortenson

Special Education Teacher

mortensonk@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x509

Courses taught:

  • High School Special Education

Jon Scagel

Transition Program

scagelj@pvrsdk12.org

(413) 498-2931 x359

Courses taught:

  • 7th/8th/HS Special Education
  • Accounting
  • Money Management

Our Instructional Assistants


Shirley Ryan

Instructional Assistant

ryans@pvrsdk12.org

Donna Serviss

Instructional Assistant

servissd@pvrsdk12.org

Contact Info:

97 F. Sumner Turner Rd.

Northfield, MA 01360

Phone: (413) 498-2931

Fax: (413) 498-0184

Copyright © 2017. Pioneer Valley Regional School District. All rights Reserved.